Frequently asked questions about the OFW Message Board
The message board is one of the central tools of the OurFamilyWizard website. Here are some of the most frequently asked questions about messaging on OFW.
I deleted a message I sent to my co-parent. Will they still be able to see it?
You can delete a message from your 'Sent Messages' folder, but doing so does not delete the message from your co-parent's 'Inbox.' Even if you delete a message before it is opened by its recipient, the recipient will still be able to view the message.
Why don’t I see the option to attach a photo to a message on the mobile app?
To attach photos to messages on the OFW mobile app, you’ll need to first give the OFW app permission to access both your photos and camera. You'll find the option to update those permissions within your phone's settings menu.
How can I tell if my co-parent has opened a message I sent to them?
When your co-parent has opened a message you’ve sent them, it will be marked with a first-view date and time. You can find this information in the ’To:’ field when viewing a message. Additionally, on the OFW web application, the message’s status symbol will change from a filled circle to an empty circle.
I accidentally deleted a message that I need! How do I retrieve it?
When you delete a message, it will remain in your 'Trash' folder for 30 days before being removed from that folder. To restore a message deleted fewer than 30 days ago, go into your 'Trash' folder, select the message, and move it back into its original folder.
If it has been more than 30 days, you can still view the message in your ‘All Correspondence’ folder. All messages, deleted or otherwise, are stored permanently in your ‘All Correspondence’ folder.
How do I know if a message has been sent successfully?
To check that you’ve successfully sent a message, go to the ‘Sent Messages’ folder and review your message history. Because OFW is a closed system, messages sent between co-parents will never be lost in transmission, unlike emails or texts that can fail to deliver or bounce back. Every message will be accessible immediately to the recipient upon sending as long as they have a stable internet connection.